What A Triumph – an SOC birthday surprise

It all started with a question posted on our Facebook page – “do any of you know where I would be able to hire a stag for a birthday treat for the wife?”

The Stag Owners Club did much better than that….. lets hand over to Virginia, she can tell us.

You can’t get much better than this, driving around the Essex country side on a lovely sunny (overcast really but use your imagination) Sunday afternoon in an open top “Triumph Stag” wind blowing through your hair (for those who had some) listening to the throbbing roars, and feeling the power of the engine, hanging on as the superb handling was put through its paces around the twisting lanes, and being treated to tails of adventures and insights it to this great piece of British engineering.

This iconic car has always been a huge favourite of mine from way back, and every time I see one I have to take a second look or point it out to whoever I happen to be with at the time, usually the husband. This must have sown a seed, because whilst sitting in the Hawk pub beer garden at Battlebridge enjoying a drink with family and friends this bright yellow “Stag” appeared, the driver introduced himself as Andrew and said he had come to take me for a spin. This had all been arranged as a surprise for my birthday, I thought I was visiting the nearby antique centre to look for a butler sink for the new kitchen.

Andrew very kindly showed us around the car and gave us the details of is history, after which both me and Mark climbed on-board (husband in the back, said he had plenty of room) and off we went with big smiles all-round. The time flew by and after a fantastic drive we returned to the Pub for another small one and to come back down.

The afternoon brought back some very happy memories of family days out and even my first driving lessons with my late father in his old Triumph 2000 MK1 the closest I got to having a “Stag”.

The debate has now started, New kitchen, New Caravan (another hobby) or maybe a small British sports car…….. ( a nice blue Stag)

A huge thank you to Andrew for taking the time to give me this wonderful birthday gift, and also to the Stag Owners Club for putting him in touch with Mark in the first place. This club looks like a very friendly group of enthusiasts and we were impressed by the club magazine and all the help and advice it contained as well as the social activates you all seem to enjoy.  If all your members are as kind as Andrew we can see why it is such a great success.

More happy memories for me, this one will be hard to beat…

DSCN7718 DSCN7723 DSCN7706

1 thought on “What A Triumph – an SOC birthday surprise

Leave a comment